Fines, Fees, Court Costs, Bail and Bonds

The court may impose fines and/or fees or court costs as a condition of your sentence or probation. How and when to pay, requesting extensions and other information are provided below. Additionally, you may have bail or a bond posted on your case in which certain actions may be taken by the court.

How do I Get My OC Pay Number?

What forms of payment does the court accept?

Online: Visa, Master Card, Discover Card, American Express, EFT and Debit. This option is only available if paying on or before your original due date. If so, click here to access the online Case Payment Processing page.
Note: Internet payments are not applicable to posting bail for a court trial, or trial by written declaration.

By mail: Checks or money orders only. DO NOT MAIL CASH. Checks and money orders should be made payable to “Clerk of the Court” To ensure your payment is credited to the correct case; include the case or citation number. All checks must be preprinted with the maker’s name.

Mail to: Information Payment Center, P.O. Box 6040, Newport Beach, CA 92658-6040

Hours are: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Click here for more information on the Automated Information and Payment Center.

In person: Payments may be made in person at any justice center. Click here for locations and hours.

How to request an extension on a criminal matter?

Extensions on court ordered fines, fees, programs or jail may be requested at the Criminal Operation’s departments on or before the due date.

A one time extension on fines or community service may be granted by the Criminal Operation’s departments by phone during business hours if the case or citation is not a mandatory appearance. Click here for more information on the Automated Information and Payment Center.

What additional fees or penalties may be added to a fine?

Additional fees and/or penalties may be included on cases as authorized by California law.

How is Your Fine Determined? provides a sample breakdown of fines, penalties, and fees that may be assessable on a case.

Click here for a complete copy of the Statewide Civil Fee Schedule.

What is penalty assessment?

It is an amount added all bail and fines pursuant to Government Code 76000 and California Penal Code 1464 and is subject to change. According to law, the amount of the penalty assessment as of July 01, 2019 is $27.29 for every $10.00 fine/bail or fraction thereof.

Why is my bail or fine so much?

What are sanctions and court costs?

A Sanction may be ordered upon a defendant or a third party as a penalty for breaking the law or the court’s order and to encourage them to comply.

Court Costs are ordered upon a defendant or a third party as a penalty for not complying with a court order. Additionally, they may be ordered in lieu of a fine or as a cost to complete a diversion program. Court costs are paid directly to the court.

How do I pay for court ordered public defender fees?

At the conclusion of the case or withdrawal of court appointed counsel, the defendant may be required to pay fees to the County for the representation of the Public Defender or other court appointed counsel. The defendant should have been provided with a “Waiver of Hearing regarding Public Defender or Court Appointment Counsels Fees and Court Order” form. This form would indicate the amount to be repaid to the County. This fee is paid through the Auditor Controller’s Office, not directly to the Court.

What is bail or a bond?

Cash Bail:
Cash bail may be applied towards the fine, if the depositor was the same defendant or if the third party who posted it signed an authorization to apply the bail to a fine. If a portion of the cash bail is to be refunded it will take approximately 6 to 8 weeks from the date of the court order. The Orange County Auditor’s office will process the refund check to the depositor or authorized designee. If the defendant fails to appear the bail will be forfeited to the court and a warrant may be issued for the defendant’s arrest. For further information, please feel free to contact the court at the Automated Information and Payment Center or review the court's online case information.

Bail Bond:
If a bail bond has been posted to the case and the defendant fails to appear, the bond will be forfeited and a warrant may be issued for the defendant’s arrest. A bondsman can surrender the defendant to the court on a forfeited bond.

How does the court determine bail?

Bail Schedules:
Pursuant to California Penal Code 1269(b) Trial Court judges annually revise and adopt a schedule of bail and penalties for all misdemeanors and infraction offenses except California Vehicle Code infractions. In doing so, consideration is given to the Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules approved by the State Judicial Council. Uniformity is substantially achieved throughout the state in traffic, boating, fish and game, forestry, public utilities, parks and recreation, and business licensing cases.

The Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedule for infraction violations of the Vehicle Code will be established by the Judicial Council in accordance with California Vehicle Code 40310 Judges must give consideration to requiring additional bail for aggravating or enhancing factors. Click here to access the Judicial Council Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedule

© 2022 Superior Court of Orange County
Locations Telephone Numbers Employment Sitemap RSS Privacy Policy Terms & Conditions Webmaster