

# Superior Court of California County of Orange

# News Release

Public Information Office Contact: Kostas Kalaitzidis, 657-622-7097 PIO@occourts.org

July 18, 2020

## **Orange County Grand Jury Selected**

**Santa Ana, CA –** Nineteen Orange County residents were selected on June 18, 2020, to serve on the Grand Jury for a one-year term that begins when the jurors take the oath of office on July 1, 2020.

Hon. Erick L. Larsh, Assistant Presiding Judge of the Orange County Superior Court and Chair of the Grand Jury Recruitment and Selection Committee, presided over the proceeding with David Yamasaki, Court Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner, randomly drawing cards printed with the names of the candidates. The Grand Jury panel is comprised of 10 men and 9 women who range in age from 54 to 79 years old.

Seventy-seven Orange County residents applied for the upcoming term. The 25 judges of the Grand Jury Recruitment and Selection Committee reviewed applications and selected top candidates, who were each interviewed by judges from the committee. Superior Court judges voted to approve the final slate of candidates.

The California Penal Code requires that the Grand Jury be selected by a random drawing of no less than 25 and no more than 30 individuals who proportionally represent the five supervisorial districts of the County. The first 19 names drawn constitute the Grand Jury, with the remaining individuals selected as alternates in the order drawn. Alternates will serve in the event that any members cannot complete the one-year term. The grand jurors and alternates will attend a four-day training program next week.

The names of the grand jurors are on the following page.

### 2020/2021 ORANGE COUNTY GRAND JURY

- 1. Luther Klippert
- 2. Jewel Loff-Polk
- 3. Karen Kindschi
- 4. Patricia English
- 5. Russell Chatham
- 6. David Bass
- 7. Colleen Zenger
- 8. Jennifer Gates
- 9. Patricia Lavoie
- 10. Michael Elliott

- 11. Timothy Moore
- 12. Carole Smith
- 13. Vicki Connely
- 14. Peter Thompson
- 15. David Schiewitz
- 16. Michael Ernandes
- 17. Felice Shiroma
- 18. Timothy Bradley
- 19. Scott Kelly

#### **ALTERNATES**

- 1. Stephen Balloch
- 2. Giridhar Athreya
- 3. Frederick Barker
- 4. John Hendrix
- 5. Paul Gerst

- 6. Annete Dellaflora
- 7. Doug Gillen
- 8. Charlene Jurak
- 9. Eugene Siegel

###