

Superior Court of California County of Orange

News Release

Public Information Office Contact: Kostas Kalaitzidis, 657-622-7097 PIO@occourts.org

May 31, 2019

Orange County Grand Jury Selected

Santa Ana, CA – Nineteen Orange County residents were selected on May 24, 2019, to serve on the Grand Jury for a one-year term that begins when the jurors take the oath of office on June 28, 2019. Hon. Erick L. Larsh, Assistant Presiding Judge of the Orange County Superior Court and Chair of the Grand Jury Recruitment and Selection Committee, presided over the proceeding with David Yamasaki, Court Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner, randomly drawing cards printed with the names of the candidates. The Grand Jury panel is comprised of 13 men and 6 women who range in age from 43 to 88 years old.

About 150 Orange County residents applied for the upcoming term. The 25 judges of the Grand Jury Recruitment and Selection Committee reviewed applications and selected top candidates who were each interviewed by judges from the committee. Superior Court judges voted to approve the final slate of candidates.

The California Penal Code requires that the Grand Jury be selected by a random drawing of no less than 25 and no more than 30 individuals who proportionally represent the five supervisorial districts of the County. The first 19 names drawn constitute the Grand Jury, with the remaining individuals selected as alternates in the order drawn. Alternates will serve in the event that any members cannot complete the one-year term. The grand jurors and alternates will attend a four-day training program in June.

The newly selected grand jurors will take the oath of office in a public ceremony on June 28, 2019, at 10:00 a.m. in Department C1 of the Orange County Superior Court. The names of the grand jurors and alternates are on the following page, listed in order of their selection.

2019/2020 ORANGE COUNTY GRAND JURY

- 1. Dena Becker
- 2. Donald Noble
- 3. Charles Bryan
- 4. Maxine Marcus
- 5. William Repp
- 6. Elbert Wells Jr
- 7. Keith Dawson
- 8. James Cast
- 9. Gregory Tettemer
- 10. Laree Lopez
- 11. Nora Prince
- 12. Pannkaj Kummar
- 13. David Meekhof
- 14. Steven Belasco
- 15. Linda Hudak
- 16. Linda Fredrickson
- 17. Andrew Brooks
- 18. Kenneth Blake
- 19. Stephanie Janji

ALTERNATES

- 1. Tina Pletcher
- 2. Christopher Evans
- 3. Joe Boyd
- 4. Kris Beard
- 5. Beverly Young
- 6. Joanne Chung
- 7. Richard Sims
- 8. Mark Kampa

- 9. Troy Botello
- 10. Barbara Hodgson
- 11. Jeffrey La Tendresse

###