

# Superior Court of California County of Orange

# News Release

Public Information Office Contact: Gwen Vieau, 657-622-7097 PIO@occourts.org

May 24, 2017

## **Orange County Grand Jury Selected**

**Santa Ana, CA –** Nineteen Orange County residents were selected today to serve on the Grand Jury for a one-year term that begins when the jurors take the oath of office on June 30. Hon. Kirk H. Nakamura, Assistant Presiding Judge of the Orange County Superior Court, presided over the proceeding with David Yamasaki, Court Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner, randomly drawing cards printed with the names of the candidates. The Grand Jury panel is comprised of 12 men and 7 women who range in age from 55 to 86 years old.

More than 150 Orange County residents applied for the upcoming term. The 25 judges of the Grand Jury Recruitment and Selection Committee reviewed applications and selected top candidates who were each interviewed by judges from the committee. Superior Court judges voted to approve the final slate of candidates.

The California Penal Code requires that the Grand Jury be selected by a random drawing of no less than 25 and no more than 30 individuals who proportionally represent the five supervisorial districts of the County. The first 19 names drawn constitute the Grand Jury, with the remaining individuals selected as alternates in the order drawn. Alternates will serve in the event that any members cannot complete the one-year term. The grand jurors and alternates will attend a four-day training program in June.

The newly selected grand jurors will take the oath of office in a public ceremony on June 30 at 10:00 a.m. in Department C1 of the Orange County Superior Court. The names of the grand jurors and alternates are on the following page, listed in order of their selection.

#### 2017/2018 ORANGE COUNTY GRAND JURY

- 1. Dorothy Fenton
- 2. Patricia Allweiss
- 3. James Cast
- 4. Thomas Oliver
- 5. Yvette Hill
- 6. Santosh Mohanty
- 7. John Beauman
- 8. Everett Geis
- 9. Richard Carson
- 10. David Kasabo
- 11. Barbara Worsley
- 12. Joyce Zohar
- 13. Catherine Ford
- 14. Richard Jolly
- 15. Stuart Newman
- 16. Robert Niccum
- 17. Daniel McCarthy
- 18. Elaine Mata
- 19. William Postma

### **ALTERNATES**

- 1. Trina Dodd
- 2. James Donckels
- 3. John Sciacca
- 4. Steven Randall
- 5. Stephen Adams
- 6. Javier Castellon
- 7. Tim Bardwell
- 8. Michael Juarez
- 9. Mary Laub
- 10. Denise Cunningham